Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday: October 24, 2012

Jill at Breaking the Spine hosts Waiting on Wednesday where participants spotlight a pre-pub book they are waiting on. My pick this week is Everything Was Goodbye by Gurjinder Basran . The author has been billed as "for fans of Jhumpa Lahiri and Amy Tan" - sold!  It publishes 12/31/2012.


Publisher Blurb: THE YOUNGEST OF SIX daughters raised by a widowed mother, Meena is a young woman struggling to find her place in the world. Originally from India, her family still holds on to many old-world customs and traditions that seem stifling to a young North American woman. She knows that the freedom experienced by others is beyond her reach. But unlike her older sisters, Meena refuses to accept a life dictated by tradition. Against her mother's wishes, she falls for a young man named Liam who asks her to run away with him. Meena must then make a painful choice—one that will lead to stunning and irrevocable consequences. Heartbreaking and beautiful, Everything Was Good-bye is an unforgettable story about family, love, and loss, and the struggle to live in two different cultural worlds.

8 comments:

  1. Any comparisons to Jhumpa Lahiri make my ears perk up.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love Jhumpa Lahiri's writing. The comparison makes this sound like a winner!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is the first I've heard of this book. I love Lahiri and quite like Tan so shall have to take a look.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love the cover and the sound of this one - great pick.

    ReplyDelete